The Nobel Prize in Physics has been announced

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics will be shared by three people. Half of the award goes to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann, who have done critical research on climate and global warming. The other is the Italian physicist Giorgio Parisi.

Winners of Nobel Prize for Physics 2021 – AFP / AFP

Sukuro Manabe holds a PhD from the University of Tokyo, Japan and is currently working as a Senior Meteorologist at Princeton University in the United States. Klaus Hasselmann is a professor at the prestigious Max Planck Institute in Germany.

This is the first time meteorologists have been awarded the Nobel Prize. Current climate studies models are based on studies conducted by Sukuro Manabe in the 1960s. He was one of the first researchers to recognize that increasing the presence of carbon dioxide causes a rise in temperature.

Klaus Hasslemann’s study comes ten years after Manabe’s study reports. Klaus Hasslemann was one of the first to recognize how human interactions affect the climate.

The research of Giorgio Parisi will help to better understand the apparently random and random phenomena. This research opened up new possibilities in mathematics, neuroscience, and machine learning.

Leave a Reply